• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Best Cat-Back

CantonXJ

NAXJA Forum User
I'd like to have a cat-back system installed on my 99 Sport. I'm looking for mellow rather than arrest-me loud. My XJ is stock, other than a K&N FIPK filter system and a 62mm TB. Does anyone make a dual-outlet system? I have a Sure-Pull class III hitch for towing an 18' Correct Craft, so are there going to be any clearance problems?

Thanks.

You can forget about a dual outlet exhuast kit, nobody makes 'em. I like my dynomax catback--pretty good sound. My buddy has a borla, I don't like it--to ricey.

Too ricey? You're f'ing nuts.....GREAT resonance inside the cabin, sounds pretty good outside too, perhaps not as reliable as I expected but then again, I'm a very aggressive/hard driver, especially off-road. The only design problem with the Borla is it's a little thin, but unless you have a set of headers to go with it, you're not gonna notice the lack of diameter (2" or 2.125" I think). You will, however, get a VERY nice and mellow sound (stainless steel), and some extra performance on top of it.

I'd also recommend a header and a high-flow cat. You have 2 O2 sensors - 1 in front of the cat, the other right behind it - so, unfortunately, you cannot simply drill out the catalyst, or else the second O2 sensor will go haywire.

Clifford still makes dual-outlet headers - 1 header for every 3 cylinders - and I don't know about the reliability (I imagine they must be pretty good), but you'd have to either bend some custom pipe yourself, or have somebody do it. Nobody makes a true dual kit for the XJ, but there's plenty of room for them if you feel so inclined (as I do).

I just had a Banks header, and Magnaflow highflow cat and catback put on.