• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

what are the best 4.5" cutting discs

md21722

NAXJA Forum User
for an angle grinder?

or is it normal for cutting an 8x8 inspection hole plus one side of a 20 gallon air tank to require more than one.. using one of the Diablo 40 grit discs from HD.

It's my first time with a 4.5" angle grinder. The tool did the work quite well, didn't seem like I needed "force it" to work.

http://naxja.org/forum/member.php?u=68436

Check with these guys. I bought a grinder, some flap discs, some grinding wheels, some cutoff wheels and a couple of the undercoating remover wheels. They had great service and even better prices. Plus they support NAXJA.

The key is to let the tool do the work and not put a lot of pressure on it as your cut. You'll wear them out a lot slower.
And go even slower if it is a new disc. I have been told that new discs have a sort of break-in period for the first couple minutes. I don't know if that is fact or crap, but I get decent life out of the product at my local hardware store.

I didn't try to force the tool & read that there was a "break in". It actually cut what it did like butter and wore slowly at first. I couldn't believe I cut as much as I did without any noticeable wear to the wheel. But once it started wearing it wore very, very quickly.

Theyre called consumables for a reason. Worry about your technique before worrying about which discs are sliiiightly better than the other. Home depot discs are fine, if not the best priced (if your going thru tons of them)

I watch the dust coming out of the cut, you can see when your being inneficient because theres extra wheel dust, and you can see it.