• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Planning 1st Off Road Trip in over 18 years

Hugothegrunt

NAXJA Forum User
So thanks to Skully, he got the 4wheelin itch in me goin really good. On Monday I'm lookin at taking my 98 XJ out for the first time, and it will be the first time for me in over 18 years, and the first time for my wife and kids. So..yeah I'm pretty much a total noob. I wanted to find an easy trail(s) that would have some wounderful scenery so I can get the wife pumped about 4wheeling, and easy enough for me to cut my teeth, and not exceed my limits as the driver or the capabilities of my XJ, yet challenging enough to be fun, and not boared to tears. I konw I'm probably asking a lot.

I picked up the "Guide to Colorado Backroads & 4-Wheel Drive Trails" by Charles Wells, and found plenty to pick from, however I did not realize that there is a "Guide to Northern Colorado Backroads & 4-Wheel Drive Trails" that would be really handy since I live in Longmont and wanted to find sowhere close to home. So going with what I have, I picked Peru Creek as a nice start with senic views and cool old mines for the kids and wife to see, then I thought of continuing south to Webster Pass and Handcart Gulch to pop out on Hwy 285, a co-worker said I should take Guanella Pass while I'm out that way, so I figure I could take that back north to link up with I-70 and back home. However this is starting to look like a 9-12 hour round trip, might be a bit long for the kids.