• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

how to tow

MR. XJ

NAXJA Forum User
hey all,

i have a small quastion on how to tow, i'm new at this, i just got a 04 dodge 4x4 disel 4 door and today i tow my xj with it, my question is it ok to get 12 mpg by pushing the tow button becaue on the way back i forgot to pushed and i star geting 17 mpg and i will like to know that is the right way and went to use the tow button sorry if is a dum question but i'm new at this.

dunno about late model dodges, but on a lot of trucks, it locks out overdrive. your 4000lb XJ should be a breeze for a diesel truck to pull, so yeah... leave it off for highway driving unless you feel it bogging down. a buddies F250 runs at 80mpg in the mountains towing his XJ+trailer.

MR. XJ said:
hey all,

i have a small quastion on how to tow, i'm new at this, i just got a 04 dodge 4x4 disel 4 door and today i tow my xj with it, my question is it ok to get 12 mpg by pushing the tow button becaue on the way back i forgot to pushed and i star geting 17 mpg and i will like to know that is the right way and went to use the tow button sorry if is a dum question but i'm new at this.

As contrite as this is going to sound, the correct answer IS to read the f'n manual. The owners manual that is. That will provide you with the information that is appropriate for your vehicle.

If you lack said manual, you should contact your Dodge dealer.

A generic answer is this:
What gear you select depends largely on the size of load and the terrain, but most automatics have a prefered "Tow setting" that is usually one gear down from overdrive.
By using this setting, you will likely be running higher rpms that when in OD, and will get less fuel efficiency.