• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Just bought my first XJ - what items should I check, not knowing maintanence history?

centuryhouse

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all, new to the forum and new to Jeeps entirely. My other cars have been classic Mustangs, 73 Ford pickup, 00 Mountaineer, 87 Montero, 00/01 Dodge Ram 1500. I felt like I was in an alien world after crawling under the XJ ;-)

I got it yesterday for $1800: 2000 Cherokee Sport XJ 4.0l inline 6, automatic, 4x4. It has 186,000 miles but starts quickly, seems to run great, everything seems fine except for a few common items: slightly sagging driver door, sagging headliner, missing a fan shroud up front, and a little oil leaking (looks like rear main).

Since I am new to the world of the Cherokee and not used to the 4WD stuff, and unsure of it's previous maintenance history, could you guys give me a few pointers on what things to check or service? I don't have much money but want to do what I can.

Obviously the oil & filter. Air filter. What else?

When I get a new to me ride, I clean them up underneath and the engine bay. check that everything has oil/fluid. Then drive it for a couple weeks checking for leaks anywhere. Then start changing fluids, oil/filter, brake/clutch fluid, trans, transfer case, diffs, coolant and flush, blinker fluid, grease all fittings and tuneup.

Change every single fluid, replace thermostat with Mopar 195 degree, replace all coolant hoses if they look to be original, install fresh NGK copper plugs gapped to .035. And don't forget to inspect/replace the serpentine belt as necessary.