• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Steering Redo.... Questions before I dive in.

EricTheRed

NAXJA Forum User
I'm fairly new to the Jeep world. I've had my 98 Cherokee for a year and a half now. I'm actually new to the solid front axle, 4 wheel drive world. Haha. I bought it set up the way it is now. From what I gather, it's a 4.5" Rough Country lift on it. It's driven 98% of the time on the highway. What off road it sees is easy stuff. I'm not looking to rock crawl with it, just trail ride.

My family's vehicle situation is fixing to be shaken up. I need a truck, but that looks like it'll be put on the back burner for now. That's fine....I don't mind waiting my turn, but I need to do some upgrades to the Jeep while I wait. The previous owners slapped a 4.5" short arm on it and called it a day. That being said, y'all know what it rides like. Also, you most likely wouldn't be surprised to know that it has a hint of death wobble on occasion when the situation is right. I've got plans to correct all of this, but I also have some questions as well.

Here's the plans.... Rocky Road Outfitters control arm drops with adjustable upper and lower control arms, over the axle track bar mount and OTK steering. I want to redo the steering to get my geometry right. I may be thinking about this all wrong, but going OTK just seems right. Not necessary for clearance, but it seems like it would be easier to get things lined up like they should be as long as it's accompanied with an over the axle track bar mount. I saw a picture through a Google search of a drag link mount that I like (I actually think he's a member here). If I decided to go OTK, I know some of the things that it entails, but there's a couple of things I'm not sure of and I know you guys could help.

1. Will I need offset TRE's for clearance?