• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Camera question

tbburg

NAXJA Forum User
I'm thinking about getting a new camera. Probably not going to bother with another point & shoot. Aiming for a low end/mid range DSLR. Here's my question: Is anyone aware of a digital camera that actually takes a photo when you press the button?(or for that matter, a way to "force" a shot?) I'm sick of the delay built into the last 2 cameras I've bought.

My experience:
I'm not a "professional", a "photographer" or anything else like that. I just like to take good photos.

Background:
I started shooting with a "semi-auto" film camera, Pentax ME-super (auto aperture, manual focus, manual film advance) Love that camera, that thing was a great shooter and tough as nails.
When the light meter/auto aperture went dead, I replaced it with a P-30(film) for lens compatibility.(Again, auto aperture, manual focus, this time 'round with auto film advance)every bit as good as the ME, maybe a little fragile, never got a chance to find out long term.
The P-30 got stolen, and I replaced it with a Canon EOS Rebel 2000(film, full auto everything) Full digital control. Hated it.(still have it, still hate it) I've missed more shots by pressing the button and waiting for the camera to think about it for a while before it trips the shutter,..
Upgraded to a digital point/shoot: Canon Powershot A560. At this point, everything is automatic of course. It shoots really good pics(at least for what it is). But,... Still has that annoying delay between button press and "shutter trip"(It doesn't even have a shutter dammit!)