NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association  

Go Back   NAXJA Forums -::- North American XJ Association > NAXJA Unibody Jeep Technical Forums > Jeep Cherokee XJ (1984 - 2001) > OEM Tech Discussion
HOME Member FAQ Sponsor Info Rules Bylaws E-Mail

OEM Tech Discussion Forum for OEM (Original Equipment) or stock XJs and MJs.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old November 25th, 2006, 19:15
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Temp Gauge

I went to the junk yard today and I scored a cluster with gauges for only 15 bucks . But the temp guage doesnt register. I installed a new sending unit, and when I am turning the Jeep on the gauge will go all the way to 260 and then back to 100 but it does that wether its connected to the sender or not???? do yall think its a bad gauge or something else. how can I test for a bad gauge?
Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old November 25th, 2006, 20:03
bajacalal bajacalal is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego (North County), California
Posts: 1,130
Re: Temp Gauge

What kind/year of cherokee is it?

Did you:
1.) Get the correct sending unit and specify that you wanted one for a cherokee with gauges, absolutely not one for warning lights when ordering it?

2.) Get the right sending unit and not another sensor. The sending unit goes on the back of the head (on some years) and is a small one wire unit, not the larger 2 wire affair on the thermostat. That only is for the ECU operation.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old November 25th, 2006, 20:14
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Re: Temp Gauge

I pulled the one in the thermostat it self. Thats the wrong one????

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old November 25th, 2006, 20:15
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Re: Temp Gauge

Oh and I have a 94 and pulled a cluster from a 94

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old November 25th, 2006, 20:22
bajacalal bajacalal is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: San Diego (North County), California
Posts: 1,130
Re: Temp Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayjeeper83
I pulled the one in the thermostat it self. Thats the wrong one????

Andrew
I'm afraid so. At least you now have a spare coolant temperature sensor. The "temp gauge sender switch" is smaller and at other end of the cylinder head, sort of next to the brake booser.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old November 25th, 2006, 20:27
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Re: Temp Gauge

Yep thats what I did. Once you said something I goggled it and found a picture so I know what to fix.

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old November 25th, 2006, 22:12
Jess Jess is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Tennessee
Posts: 2,393
Re: Temp Gauge

careful if you pull it from a salvage yard...they break really easily (use deep socket). Myself and many others have had problems with temp sending units from chain stores. Your best bet is to find an OE one from salvage or go to the stealership.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old November 26th, 2006, 05:50
ratherbcamping's Avatar
ratherbcamping ratherbcamping is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Texas
Posts: 563
Re: Temp Gauge

None of the chains I went to had a temperture sensor, they wanted to sell me a temperture switch for the idiot light. Bought one from the dealer for $17.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old November 26th, 2006, 15:09
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Re: Temp Gauge

I just bought one from autozone for 8 bucks. Im going to let it cool and then see if I can get it installed. Thanks for the heads up about it being easily broken

Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old November 26th, 2006, 16:54
ratherbcamping's Avatar
ratherbcamping ratherbcamping is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Texas
Posts: 563
Re: Temp Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by xrayjeeper83
I just bought one from autozone for 8 bucks. Im going to let it cool and then see if I can get it installed. Thanks for the heads up about it being easily broken
Let us know if it works. Autozone here does not carry the right one. They only carry the switch. They told me the one for the gauge isn't even in their system.
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old November 26th, 2006, 18:18
Blaine B.'s Avatar
Blaine B. Blaine B. is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Northwest Indiana
Posts: 6,137
Re: Temp Gauge

The sensor on the thermostat housingis for the electric fan. Older Cherokee's didn't have this sensor, or at least it wasn't on the thermostat housing.

The temp sensor for the gauge is practically below the MAP sensor.
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old November 26th, 2006, 19:27
xrayjeeper83 xrayjeeper83 is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Jax, FL
Posts: 330
Re: Temp Gauge

It seems to working fine. Runs just a hair above 210 and a good radiator flush should help that.
Ya Blaine I figured that out after going and buying the one that was in the thermostat housing LOL guess that what I get for not doing research first.


Andrew
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old December 27th, 2006, 07:20
dspilot dspilot is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hickory Flat, MS
Posts: 305
Re: Temp Gauge

I just replaced my sneding unit with one from Autozone, and still get nada on the gauge. Should I get one from Jeep and see if that works, or is there something else I should try?
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old December 27th, 2006, 07:22
dspilot dspilot is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Hickory Flat, MS
Posts: 305
Re: Temp Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by dspilot
I just replaced my sneding unit with one from Autozone, and still get nada on the gauge. Should I get one from Jeep and see if that works, or is there something else I should try?
I always forget to add the specs.

1996, 4.0, 4WD

and it was indeed the sending unit that I replaced (back by the firewall).
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old December 27th, 2006, 09:15
ratherbcamping's Avatar
ratherbcamping ratherbcamping is offline
NAXJA Forum User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: South Texas
Posts: 563
Re: Temp Gauge

Quote:
Originally Posted by dspilot
I just replaced my sneding unit with one from Autozone, and still get nada on the gauge. Should I get one from Jeep and see if that works, or is there something else I should try?
You probaby got the one for the switch. The Autozone here couldn't get the right one, so I went to the dealer. It was 17 bucks.

Tom
Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
'94 XJ Did the gauge swap, temp gauge doesn't move while driving caspergotaz28 OEM Tech Discussion 1 April 24th, 2005 16:08
Temp gauge way off? brtb OEM Tech Discussion 13 July 14th, 2004 09:00
Temp Gauge 2wdxj OEM Tech Discussion 3 June 14th, 2004 21:39
Temp. Gauge jeepguy97 OEM Tech Discussion 1 March 18th, 2004 18:13
Screwy Temp Gauge Mikes92LTD OEM Tech Discussion 1 January 24th, 2004 22:29


All times are GMT -7. The time now is 10:20.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.9
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
NAXJA and NAXJA logo's Copyright NAXJA. All content/images Copyright NAXJA 1999-2014