• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Need help! $

Sluder

NAXJA Forum User
I just posted a thread to the Modified Tech forum About the Rugged Ridge mega short SYE that came with my IRO lift. I've never done this before and barely have any experience with the transfer case. Hoping someone can answer the questions I posted.

Mainly about the Tune Ring and why I don't have a plastic speedo gearon my shaft but see so many online? Does the SYE require me to buy one?

You got the wrong kit.

The tone ring is for a different style (magnetic speedo sensor). You have a mechanical/electrical speedo sensor. You need the blue gear instead of the tone ring.

Call IRO back and tell them what's going on.

You got the wrong kit.

The tone ring is for a different style (magnetic speedo sensor). You have a mechanical/electrical speedo sensor. You need the blue gear instead of the tone ring.

Call IRO back and tell them what's going on.

it still reads the hall effect sensor... it works just fine i have one in sam's xj

Right, I see that now. I missed the mega short part. I have to old standard RR SYE kit that reuses the stock stuff. I didn't realize it came with the new sensor.

the rugged ridge ones have issues with the sensors catching interference at high rpms. the jb conversions super short comes with a proper honeywell sensor that's better isolated. super short in an xj is a little overkill, the working ds length is 36 freaking inches.

I've had a YJ for over 15 years but always wanted a XJ. I had my ideas of what I wanted but never had one to really see what was practical. I got so excited when I finally got my 2001 that I started buying a bunch of stuff I thought would be good. Not the smartest thing but I got a little ahead of myself maybe.