• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

checked my compression, bad news.

Beached Bones

NAXJA Forum User
HI, I'll write this long to try to give as much details as possible. I am a fair backyard mechanic but have never gone deep into the engine before.

My 92 XJ 4.0 auto (engine rebuilt 40,000 km ago by a mechanic), slowly and progressively started running real rough, lacking power, and would stall when coming to a stop. It has had poor mileage (9-12 mpg) It would surge at highway speed and the idle was inconsistant. Also my valvetrain noise is strongly noticeable and has been getting worse. Not long ago I changed my 02 sensor. Following some information posted here, I changed my Cap, Rotor, plugs and wires, no change, my Crankshaft sensor was replaced next and it was much better, my idle speed is right on, and I don't stall anymore. It still runs very rough, and "seems" to have excess water coming out of the exhaust (no catalytic converter) I don't think I smell coolant in the exhaust but am not 100% on that. Also I don't think I am loosing coolant, if so very slowly, with no visible external leaks. There is no oil in the coolant/antifreeze, and there is no coolant in the engine oil (no milkshake like or brown oil). I have checked that there is spark with a inductive spark tester. Fuel also seems fine but I havn't really tested the presure or anything.

After all that I was guessing that maybe my headgasket might be blown between a cylinder and the water jacket, or that I've got some problems with my valvetrain. I don't think the piston rings are the problem as they were replaced with the engine rebuild. So I went today a bought a pressure tester. the readings I got were as follows:

#1 130
#2 145
#3 140
#4 0 both dry and wet test
#5 140