• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

It's Just another jeep..

NW-ZJ-SCOTT

TEXAS-JT-SCOTT
NAXJA Member
That's what i keep telling myself..

Alrighty... I've come to the conclusion i want to paint my 5.9 ZJ..

I have a parts ZJ with an immaculate body. and my 5.9 is starting to really show its age in the paint(nearing 200k) and since it's seen its share of trails.. I am thinking about swapping the front fenders, and drivers door, to rid of all the dings and dents..

I have some experience, after a week of sanding and and heavy preparation I painted my XJ with KRYLON Camo green, and i loved the turn out, I was really impressed with the turnout, No extreme swirls, no inconsistency's..

But with the 5.9.. i just dont want to "Rattle can" it.. i have the paint scheme picked out.. and i am ready for the Prep work... But i think i want to get a cheapo Paint gun and go that route..

What does painting with a gun consist of? How does the gun work? is it pressurized from an air compressor? (have one) Will a harbor freight gun do the trick? reviews?

If i go that route.. lets face it.. there are like 500 shades of Olive green.. I'm being really picky with the vision of the turnout. The color i have Chosen, is AJP-WWII from armyjeepparts.com (same as overlandXJ) but even with THIS part i have a few questions..

Will a Gallon do the whole job? I plan to do the lower portion Semi-gloss black, Will i need a reducer with this paint? or is that a gun dependent thing?

alright.. I've rambled on long enough.. lets see what you have to say

LMAO... :laugh3:

I used just shy of a gallon on OverlandXJ. Also used a Harbor Freight HVLP gun with air compressor. You need to use a water seperator as well.