• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Diesel or Aircraftmechanic??

XbajajeepX

NAXJA Forum User
Which would you go to school for and make a career out of and why?

For me? Probably a Diesel wrench. Unless you stick to G/A, getting your A&P might become obsolescent, I think a lot of the major players are shifting their work offshore to cut costs. You can't ship a Diesel overseas - while you might save on labour, you'll get killed in the round trip (making it not cost effective.)

That's just my line of thinking.

I'm an automotive machinist, and everybody at the shop I work at hates diesel stuff. Its twice as heavy, 3x as dirty and stinks like diesel suit blow by. In my area diesel fleet mechanics are in high demand and companies are giveing out very large incentives to get employees. Do you have any experience in either field? One other thing to do would be to check around and see what the pay scale and chances to move up the chain are.

But what do I know. I work at a machine shop durring the week and for a carpenter on weekends, and going to school to be an electrical engineer.

~Alex

Ive got my A&P. I went to school for two years about 14 years ago and I havent touched an aircraft since.
My experience is that the problem with being an aircraft mechanic is that there just isnt (wasnt in my case) much call for it unless you are willing to relocate to a job. When I finished A&P school 14 years ago, I was in a position that I couldnt leave where I was and I made the decision to not commute 4 hours every day so I never did find an A&P job and have since given up on it.