• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

About me - running for MWC Treasurer

GoSlowGetStuck

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
I'm a little late to the game here and I apologize. My name is Brad and I'm running for treasurer of our chapter. We've had 3 very sharp, well-organized treasurers over the 8 or so years I've been involved with the club. I'm hoping I can live up to the standard they've set.

A little about me - I started wheeling in late '08, during that winter Jim (ILLXJ) drove 3 or so hours to bring me some parts and it blew me away even though it was no big deal for him. Figured you all must be good peeps and decided I'd join up and head to Winterfest; several Jeeps later I'm still here. I have a somewhat obnoxious/awesome teal XJ that I've been wheeling for about 3 years, because I rolled the last one cutting donuts. I swear that my financial decisions are better than my wheeling ones! I do reliably make it to Winterfest and the SEC Cherokee Crawl each year, and I've only missed one or two of our semi-annual trail cleanups.

My day job is writing computer software. I do not nerd out too often at events (uhhh it's a vacation!), but I am big on spreadsheets and keeping track of things, which I think will be helpful quirks to have.

I see the job as three areas:

Takin' Care Of Business - I know a lot of the treasurer's job is behind the scenes, and a lot of the overall BOD effort goes into events. Accounting for event registrations, making sure that vendors get paid for events/venues/meals, and making sure that sales of swag, raffle tickets, etc. are all accounted for, are important to have done and done accurately. I'm sure there are some additional "business as usual" responsibilities that I will quickly learn about.