• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

'88 Temp Gauge Stuck At MAX, Even When Engine isn't Running.

sparton013

NAXJA Forum User
This is my first time posting so I apologize in advance if I left out any key pieces or information or if I provided way too much irrelevant info. I figure too much info is better than not enough.

1988 XJ Laredo – 4.0L 6cyl – 4x4 Auto Trans

I was driving my Jeep and all of a sudden the temperature gauge started going crazy. Fluctuating all over the place from normal operating temp then instantly pegging past the max and then back down to normal temp. I pulled over in to a parking lot and checked the engine bay. Nothing seemed out of the ordinary as far as the actual coolant system (closed, not open). I started the Jeep back up and the temperature gauge was stuck at max now. Luckily, I was only a couple miles from my house so I managed to drive it home OK. While on my way home I noticed whenever I would go over an overly-bumpy section of the road enough to really rattle the Jeep, the needle on the temp gauge would start to go back to reading the normal operating temp for just a split second before returning back to max.

The temperature gauge is stuck at max even when the engine is completely cold. It is also stuck at max when I turn the ignition switch to the ON and START positions. All other gauges in the instrument cluster work perfectly fine.

The first thing I did was replace the Coolant Temperature GAUGE Sending Unit located at the rear of the head on the driver’s side. The problem persisted. I unplugged the single purple wire that connects to the CTSU and the gauge is still stuck at max. I traced the wire from the CTSU all the way back to where it goes in through the firewall. The insulation is healthy with no signs of wear or exposed wire (in the engine bay).