• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

2WD/4WD linkage broken how to get into 2WD

Lou4130

NAXJA Forum User
So when changing the console braket in my 2001 XJ, moving the 2wd/4wd shifter seems to have broken or disconnected the linkage but it is stuck in 4wd (i think.. slow pic up and high rpm at 3000) I just need to get this back into 2wd so i can get to my new job starting on the 28th. I dont really use the 4WD anyways, but can fix it later. I was told you can move the linkage by going under the jeep and manully putting it into the 2WD position. I have very little knowledge of this type of thing so need all the help i can get! thanks !

I was told you can move the linkage by going under the jeep and manully putting it into the 2WD position. I have very little knowledge of this type of thing so need all the help i can get! thanks !
That is the correct answer!

That is the correct answer!
Awesome! i just dont know which way to move it, and how to move it. I had tried to move it by hand, but it wont budge...i also just thought maybe i should put it neutral? (i can put it up on jack stands)

If your in 4lo, then it's all the way in the other direction. For a 231 it's (2H-4H-N-4L).

it might be. I dont know for sure cuz i was just moving it to get the console off and wasn't paying attention :/ I think it is likely in 4lo cuz when i took it for a very short drive, the RPMs were at 3000 and it def sounded like a low gear. I just need to figure that out and i should be fine to at least drive it to work! i can fix the linkage later on. Its all kind of rusted and shot anyway. May be good to replace it.

Even if it's a np242 it's still on the complete opposite of end travel. Np242 (2H-4P-4F-N-4L)