• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Should I get an electric fan?

green_machine

NAXJA Forum User
I have a snorkel on the way and i live in alaska where there are a lot of river crossings, i read somewhere that when people usually cross rivers it is good to be able to switch off your fan for some reason i guess so you dont damage it vs the belt driven fan that comes stock i think, i am fairly new to the off road scene and i know a decent amout but am still working out the in depth technical stuff, so what do you guys think, thanks, Todd

The mech fan essentially becomes a propeller when it gets in the water, and can easily pull the engine (and fan) forward into the radiator. If you know you'll be driving through water you should replace it with an electric fan. There are other benefits too, such as the eliminating a source of constant drag on the crank and freeing up those ponies for the wheels. Just try to do a thorough job--a lot of people get frustrated and go back to mechanical when it doesn't work out for them as desired