• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

intakes

cuchulainn

NAXJA Forum User
I know I am a newbie and I also know that this has been talked to death. I should know I have spent hours on here and everywhere else looking up answers and haven't found anything that really helps. Everything seems to simply bring up more questions. Heck I even tried the Oilbill page or Billoil page which ever it is where the guy tested the filters. For some reason I can't get the images. At any rate, I want to increase the air flow going into my engine a 2000 XJ 4.0, and I am not limited to drop in filters, I am not adverse to fipk's or such but is there a solution. Something that increases air flow but also allows good filtration. Thanks for the help.

You will get zero performance gain, the stock filter provides more air than the 4.0 can use...

Some people say they notice more, I haven't notice any on mine.

I went to a 2.5" exhaust with a hi-flow cat and a flowmaster, that seemed to wake my jeep up a bit, but that may have just been from my old cat being in pretty bad shape, I don't know.. the jeep only had 32,000 miles on it.

I have a 60mm bored throttle body (renix era xj) and it made no difference at all. I tried a throttle body spacer, also no difference.. I took it back out later as I pulled the throttle body and didnt really feel the need to keep the spacer.

On a renix era, some people say a high altitude CPS helps a bit with more power.

Go with the K&N FIPK, I definately noticed an increase in power (in the mid RPM range) just be mindful that with an open filter doing proper maint. is key to keep it filtering correctly and keeping the road junk out of your engine.