• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

What gearing for 32’s???

7roy1117

NAXJA Forum User
5f229de64f538ffb9eb98377fc1dc52d.jpg

I’m putting 32 inch tires on my xj and don’t know much about gears in the front or rear and what ratio would be best for this tire size?

That's a nice looking xj I'll let the experts chime in on gearing choices.

I'm running 4:10's on my XJ with 31" tires, and 4:56's on my XJ with 33" tires.

Is it an automatic or manual?

What is your primary use of the Jeep? Daily driver with occasional wheeling, or mostly a trail rig?

You can go to this website and calculate your ratios:

http://www.grimmjeeper.com/gears.html

For me as a daily driver, I would probably do 4:10. For mainly a trail rig, 4:56. JMO.

Another vote for 4.10's on a street/trail rig, and 4.56's for dedicated hard core rig!

I'm happy with 4.10/4.11 on my MJ running 32s and around 5" of lift. Some mild offroading, no rock climbing, but lately mostly intermittent commuting and when I take my mountain bike with.

I swapped in 4-cyl junkyard axles a long time ago.

Forgot to mention, I'm running an 98 AW4 automatic so my OD ratio is 0.75:1, versus the 0.705 ratio and 21-spline prior to mid 1990. Also ran this with the AX-15 5-speed.

As I recall, my speedo gear was pulled from a 4.0 that had 3.73 axles and it spot on. 36 tooth?

I'm running 4.10s with 32s (metric) on a 98 XJ auto with 4.5 lift. It does OK. Does feel a bit sluggish at times. Mine does have a bore TB and 2.5 cat back, and an aftermarket header. I did plan to regear to 4.30s. Yes, an odd choice. Build plans have changed.