• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

rear drive line questions???

blazinjames

NAXJA Forum User
hey everyone,

Im pretty new to all this and trying to figure out what I should do once I start to lift me jeep.

I have a 6in used rusty lift, and I know once installed the drive line angle will be messed up.

I know it is recommended to get a sye kit and drive shaft, im guessing this is the easist way to do avoid vibrations?

ive also heard of just lowering the transfercase and getting a longer drive shaft? seems like that wouldnt be that much harder but alot cheaper?

what are the advantages and disadvantages of doing both?

thanks

at 6" a sye and double cardan shaft are mandatory.
On a side note I have some 6* steel axle shims from rubicon express for sale complete with center pins for $20.You will need these after you get a sye to point your pinion up at the t-case output.
I'm at 5.5" and the 6* shims were too much.....They'll probably work for you at 6" pm me if interested....

outlander said:
at 6" a sye and double cardan shaft are mandatory.
On a side note I have some 6* steel axle shims from rubicon express for sale complete with center pins for $20.You will need these after you get a sye to point your pinion up at the t-case output.
I'm at 5.5" and the 6* shims were too much.....They'll probably work for you at 6" pm me if interested....

I ran at 6.5" with no SYE for more than a year before getting around to installing one, without vibes. .75" TC drop and 2* shims in the rear.

MJR runs a hummer 242 with a slip yoke and 7" of lift, no SYE, no vibes.

Thats not to say that blazinjames won't need one, but its not manditory just because of a 6" lift.

Yes, with a YJ slip yoke.

You can get away with a lot more on early models than you can on late models.

blazinjames said:
hey everyone,