• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

booster swap only?

ehall

NAXJA Member
NAXJA Member
I got a booster and master cylinder from a 95 part-out with the intention of replacing the stock junk in my 91. However I have since determined that replacing the master cylinder will likely need to be accompanied by a replacement of all the hard lines as well, so I'm not eager to do that right now. Can I swap the booster only? I assume so but wanted to ask first. Also my washer fluid reservoir seems like it's packed in pretty close over there, will I need to relocate it to do this?

I put on the WJ booster and did not change any lines. Still stopping fine. I did have to do some adapting of the lines to the master cylinder because of metric issues, but those were just 6 inch adapter lines, the main brake lines are the stock ones. Mine is a 1991.

I did the booster swap in my 89 and still haven't figured out a way to re mount my asher fluid bottle. But i was an idiot when i bent my lines and didn't bed them tight enough or else i could still have my washer fluid bottle. The booster and mc fit fine, it's the hard lines that could give you problems as far as clearance.

I have yet to confirm this, but I am given to believe it's not a direct swap (old M/cyl to newer booster.)

I'm sure I'll be working on this at some point - I greatly prefer the one-piece iron cylinder over the two-piece aluminum-and-plastic job, but I'm just funny that way...