• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Input?

XJinPA

NAXJA Forum User
I used to work as a fabricator for 7 years and I'm now a stay at home dad/college student. I have a garage and am looking at buying equipment to start fabbing steel in my free time. What do you guys think of the market for bumpers, skids and armor right now? Is it worth it for me to start making some of this stuff to sell and would anyone local be willing to drop by once I do start to give trail experienced insight on certain designs?

One thing I've noticed about the Jeep crowd is that they are notoriously CHEAP. Most of them don't like paying more than $1000 for the entire vehicle:spin1: (Myself included)

I would think that to sell a decent amount of custom bumpers and stuff, they would have to meet three requirements:

1. Design - Function, fit, and looks all have to be good
2. Dependable - the stuff has to be tough as nails
3. Down right cheap - well, sort of. It would have to be significantly cheaper than what is available now through the big shops

For the time, energy, and money you would have to put in to design, produce, and market your products ..... I don't think you would come out ahead.

To make decent money, you need high margins. High margins mean high prices, which means low sales.

The big shops have you beat hands down in that area. They'll have lower costs, smaller margins, and lower prices ..... but still make more money because of volume.

Fabrication is AWESOME. If you enjoy doing it, go for it. I just don't think it will produce any income to speak of.