• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

99+ Intake manifold

JeepSpeed

NAXJA Forum User
Hi all,

Alright, before I even start this I have to say I am not a newbie, I performed a search, had trouble with it because of the number 99 for some reason, and couldn't find it. So anyway,what's this I hear about the 99+ intake manifold. I know they changed them, but are peeps switching them in older rigs for performance? Is that where the 4.0 picked up those three or so ponies? I'm looking to open up the intake and exhaust as much as possible, and I like the way a better breathing manifold sounds. If this is true, does it just bolt right up, or is there trouble with the ODBII and ODBIII matching up? (I have a 94') Also, if all other answers are lookin good, where can I get one? Seems like the stealership would charge me a large one for every nut and bolt, I'd rather there was somewhere else. (Plz don't say boneyard, Ive never once seen a 4.0L XJ in any by me, especially not a 99+) And finally, thanks for reading my long ass post and answering my barrage of questions. :D

You'll find more information on the boards at the "strokers' egroup (link below.)

As the 4.0 evolved, the intake runners in the head were gradually and slightly straightened out, which increased airflow efficiency and THAT is where the extra power came from. Remember that an engine is little more than a self-powered air pump that makes more power than it needs to run. Increasing the extra power made is a matter of increasing the efficiency with which the air enters and exits the engine (which is the targetted result of most mods, if you look at it.)