• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Lockers?!?!?!?!?!?

96blackxj

NAXJA Forum User
i've been looking into getting a locker for my 96 cherokee, i have 4 inches of lift and 32 inch tires. I have a chrysler 8.25 in the rear, and that is where i'm thinking about putting the locker, and arb is out of the question as i am a college student. I've been reading about lockright lockers by powertrax, but i need some information on them and any other good lockers by people who have them in their vehicles and have beat on them for awhile. I drive on the road a lot also, i need something that isn't going to tear my tires apart around corners on the road. if some of you guys have lockers and can tell me the truth about them, not try to sell them to me, that would be GREAT! thanks a lot.

I owned a Detroit Locker in my DD for about a year and a half and I wouldn't do it again. I didn't like the way the tires would bind up around corners (I like to give it gas even around the corners) and then release all of the sudden causing a chirp and kind of a sideways jump while in the turn. I'll go selectable or I've even thought of throwing a spool (more predictable handling) in there because it's cheap. It did make the tires wear out quicker, but the clencher for me was the fact that going up mountains with slite sidehill, gravely slopes, the rear end would just walk right off the side easier than with an open diff. So my vote would be ARB. But you've ruled that out, so don't spend much, just get a lunchbox locker you can put in yourself so that if you don't like it, you sell it and you're not out much.

Check out the full list of products pdf file on their site, the Aussie locker is available for the 27-spline 8.25.