• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Pics of my 88XJ with front leaf springs - help the newb! LOTS of pics, 56k death

Goatslayer

NAXJA Forum User
Before anyone asks why I installed a leaf spring front suspension I want to say that I did not do the leaf spring conversion. I bought the XJ about a month ago and these mods were already done.

I'm brand new to not only Jeeps but to lifted vehicles, so I have a lot to learn. I plan on fixing stuff as I break it (like the upper shock mount I broke lastweekend) If there's something majorly wrong with the suspension as it sits right now then I'll fix it ASAP.

What I know about this Jeep...

- supposedly CJ springs, 4" lift and 35s
- 97 Explorer rear axle (with disc brakes)
- 4.88 gears
- transfer case is original to my knowledge
- there's a LOT of blowby comig out of the breather so that's the cause of the oil leak you'll see in some pics

While an "in person" look at the suspension and drivetrain is obviously the best way to see it, I'd appreciate it if you all can look over the pics and point out possible (or actual) problems. Obvoiusly as I break things I'm going to fix them. The two positives that will come out of parts breaking are a) I'll be "hands on" and I lern more that way and b) it will get fixed right so won't break it again (hopefully).

Also - without finding out the "hard way" by getting stuck someewhere or without tearing apart the differentials, how do I find out if I have lockers?

Okay, here's the pics. I started at the rear driver's side, then passenger's rear, then front,then driver's front.

suspension%20002.jpg

suspension%20003.jpg

suspension%20004.jpg