• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

86 Cherokee 2.8 to 4.3 swap Help

xjproject

NAXJA Forum User
Hello, I have noticed alot of information in this forum on this topic. I am very new to the cherokee family. I have a 86 cherokee with a 2.8 motor, ax-5 MTX, and NP-204 Transfer case. The motor has seen better days and is gutless with 31.5 swampers. I have tossed the idea around about the 3.1/3.4 but that has fizzed out. I am not at all intrested in the 3.1/3.4 due to the cost of aftermarket parts and availability. I am firm on putting in the 4.3 motor. I know that the bolt pattern is different and will have to change bellhousing, clutch, etc.. I have also been told that the drivetrain consisting of motor, MTX, and T-case from a 4.3 S-10 will bolt right in. What kind of feedback can you give me on this project? Can I use my exsisting driveline or should I swap the driveline as well? I don't want to do any major fabrication due to the lack of tools. Hope you all can help me out. Would like to complete this by July / August.
Thanks,
Robert

I'm interested in this too. I can pic up rusted out s-10blazers for cheap with good 4.3/trans/tcase. Swapping that in to the wife trail jeep would sure pep it up. Any stuctural problems that would get in the way? I'm sure the advanced adapter mtr mounts would work for the 4.3 and I could make my own trans/tcase mount...

xjproject:
Nope, the 4.3 isn't a "bolt in" swap - only the 3.4 comes close to being bolt in and the 3.1 motor won't work at all (usually a front drive engine with a wierd bolt pattern) as far as I know. Please understand that when you go with the 4.3 NONE of your existing drivetrain is compatible.