• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

93 vs. 98 buying help

Histeach

NAXJA Forum User
Hi, Newbie Here:

Looking at 2 XJ's, one a 93 Sport with 133K, 2 owner, well maintained, good shape. Guy wants $2,500. The other is 98 Classic with 200K, well maintained passed PA inspection, 2 owner. He wants $2,100

Was the early 90's, ie. 91-95 better than the newer Cherokees. The vehicle will be used by wife for snow in Maine. She won't fit in my 97 F-150 X-Cab.
Both has steady brakes, engine and tranny smooth shiftly. What are some other things to consider? It will not be used off-road. Any help would be great.

im not sure what others will say but heres some pros and cons

98 Pros
slightly stronger frame then 93 (change made in late 95 i believe?)
Passenger and Driver Airbags
I6 has quieter engine then 93 and more available torque at idle (change in 96)
more structural beams in doors for impact protection then 93.

93 Pros
r12 instead of r134a A/C (change not a pro i guess)
if you lift this you wont have driveline Vibe Problems liek the 96/7 Plus - which would need a SYE kit.

i know its not a lot... but im sure others will add details and give you more to consider.

Thanks for your input. I really appreciate it. Yeah, I had a 91 YJ with the new 4 litre and loved it. My friend has a 96 and put no money into it. Pretty impressive. Thanks again

Some other items that weren't mentioned