• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

tru speed

righteyejoe

NAXJA Forum User
i am new to all the lifts on XJ's and i have resently put 4 3/4 lift on my 97 xj sport with 31 10.50 and i know my speedo is off and im looking at upgrading my axles and i was wondering if the skyjacker truspeed senser is a good idea or a waste of 180 bucks or a good call?(forgive any wrong spelling)
Joe

I have it on mine. It has 2 settings for 2 different tire sizes if you need to swap for any reason. It is cheaper to install the gearing if you are at your "final" gearing or tire size but I went through 3 sizes on my YJ and that is how I "justified" using the Truspeed on my XJ. I have already ran 31's and now at 33's and use a GPS to calibrate the setting. It is worth it to me because by the time I make up my mind it will have paid for itself in tire size changes.

mtntech said:
I have it on mine. It has 2 settings for 2 different tire sizes if you need to swap for any reason. It is cheaper to install the gearing if you are at your "final" gearing or tire size but I went through 3 sizes on my YJ and that is how I "justified" using the Truspeed on my XJ. I have already ran 31's and now at 33's and use a GPS to calibrate the setting. It is worth it to me because by the time I make up my mind it will have paid for itself in tire size changes.

Wouldn't you have to go through around 9 or 10 speedometer gears before this gadget pays for itself? Seems like a waste to me.