• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

White Rim Trail - Moab soon?

old_man

NAXJA Forum User
I am going to check to see if it is open, but I am thinking of doing a 3 day trip around White Rim Trail in Moab before Christmas or shortly thereafter if it is open and I don't have to head down to a job in AZ.

I was a professional photographer for years and want to take time to explore and take a bunch of pix. Rough camping is required and it may be butt cold. Depending on the weather, the trail is normally just a step above a SUV trail but is not for the faint hearted with tons of 500+ foot drop offs and ledge roads. It is a 102 mile round trip with no services or support.

While I wouldn't necessarily recommend this for a first time wheeling trip, if you are confident and have a reasonably built and equiped rig, you should be OK.

dead_horse.jpg

http://www.utah.com/offroad/white_rim_trail.htm

Here ya go Tom, the road is closed north of Potato Bottom.

http://www.nps.gov/cany/news082410.htm

They also mention not issueing reservations (required for overnight), but thats not to say you cant obtain one by walking in the ranger station and asking for one. Phone call should answer that.

Potato Bottom is 66 miles in from the Ranger Station, so your looking at 132 miles round trip plus any offshoots.

Last edited:
I figured they would have it fixed by now. Bummer.

I figured they would have it fixed by now. Bummer.