• NAXJA is having its 18th annual March Membership Drive!!!
    Everyone who joins or renews during March will be entered into a drawing!
    More Information - Join/Renew
  • Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

How to tear apart rear end... and get it back together.

Gridikal

NAXJA Forum User
Well I've never done somthing like this before, and after many many times in the water I think I need to change the diff fluid as well as check gear teeth etc. etc. How bouta rundown on how to do this. Or a link would be just as great.. Thanks

dothedew24_7 said:
Well I've never done somthing like this before, and after many many times in the water I think I need to change the diff fluid as well as check gear teeth etc. etc. How bouta rundown on how to do this. Or a link would be just as great.. Thanks

Place large drain pan under diff
Remove diff cover bolts
Remove diff cover
Splash gear oil all over everywhere....ummm....smells goooood.
Scrape off ALL old gasket material, cover and diff
Rinse diff with brake cleaner (the good stuff, not that "safe" crap)
Run bead of "Ultra-Black" on cover, follow directions on can
Reinstall cover, tighten it to "snug"
Add oil - VERY IMPORTANT!!

Rev

Rev Den said:
Place large drain pan under diff
Remove diff cover bolts
Remove diff cover
drink beer
Splash gear oil all over everywhere....ummm....smells goooood.
Scrape off ALL old gasket material, cover and diff
drink beer
Rinse diff with brake cleaner (the good stuff, not that "safe" crap)
spin tire to check for chipped teeth
catch hand in carrier
swear
remove hand from carrier
drink beer
bandage hand
drink beer

Run bead of "Ultra-Black" on cover, follow directions on can
Reinstall cover, tighten it to "snug"
Add oil - VERY IMPORTANT!!

Rev

Fixed it for ya...