• Welcome to the new NAXJA Forum! If your password does not work, please use "Forgot your password?" link on the log-in page. Please feel free to reach out to [email protected] if we can provide any assistance.

Clutch chattering in 1st...little help?

BrentNClemson

NAXJA Forum User
Hey guys, this is my first man. transmission vehicle, so I'm still learning...see if you guys can give a little insight.

I've had my 91XJ (93k miles, 35's, stock gears) for a few months. I still have the 3.07's and some 4.56's should be going in w/in a week or two. On cold starts the clutch seems to grab sooner than normal but also chatter/shake before catching all the way. It only does this for the first few 1st gear starts, and has only been doing it for the past week or so. The 35's have been on for about a month (i only drive the Jeep about 3 or 4 times a week b/c of school.) Is this being caused by the strain the 35's are putting on the 3.07's or is the clutch or some part of it going bad? Thanks for the help ya'll!
-Brent

It takes a lot of clutch slipping to get 31s rolling through 3.07 gears. That's the way my MJ was set up when I first got it. I've been driving manual transmissions for over 40 years, and this is the first and only vehicle I just cannot get started without clutch chatter. I think the kid who sold it to me probably slipped the clutch a lot and hot-spotted the flywheel. That makes it impossible for the clutch plate to grab uniformly, because the burned spots are either higher or lower than the plane of the flywheel.

I'm now running it with 3.73 gears, which is more gear than stock, and I still can't start w/o chatter (unless I'm very careful and very lucky).

flywheel, maybe